Homemade Peanut Butter

At a recent trip to the grocery store, I was searching out my favorite peanut butter in a fruitless effort. I don’t know why, but Skippy Chunky is the hardest pb to find in New Brunswick! (Skippy is creamy and lots of crunchy peanut pieces- most crunchy pb’s have about half of the amount of chunkies in it….) Much to my chagrin, there was no Skippy- so I was forced to look for a substitute, which ended up being Kraft. Kraft Natural PB. All peanut, and no filler fake stuff. And more importantly- it was a reasonable price, so of course I bought it.

After a bit of effort stirring the oil that separated back in, and adding a little salt and honey- it was a little on the bland side- I was pb’ing english muffins, toast, and munching spoonfuls with great delight! It didn’t stick to the roof of my mouth, a sensation I’ve never particularly enjoyed, it wasn’t as plastic-y or as heavy.

With about 2 servings left in the jar, it dawned on me- if it’s peanuts, honey and salt, why can’t I make it? And it’s not even that hard!!! Why have we been buying the other stuff for so long…

Homemade Peanut Butter:
This makes about a “bought” jars worth.
500 g raw peanuts
35 g honey
12 g salt
In an oven preheated to 350F, roast peanuts until color changes to light golden brown. Stir every 5-7 minutes to prevent dark spots on the nuts. Let peanuts cool.

Dig out the food processor (I paid $20 for mine at a department store…), and start blitzing the peanuts in small batches. The peanuts will go through a process-

A chunky giant lump….

A chunky paste…

A dry looking paste…

And then peanut butter!

The peanuts need the natural oils to come out to make the butter, this requires a little patience and the peanuts to warm up from the friction of the blade going through them. I add the salt and honey at the beginning of one of the batches and then stir all of it together in a bowl at the end.

You can also make chunky- hold out about 50 g of peanuts, and chunkify them in the food precessor, fold them into the peanut butter.

I have make hazelnut butter the same way- although I was inclined to add a bit of chocolate- and it turned out really well…

One thought on “Homemade Peanut Butter

  1. Peanut butter makes me a happy person.
    If you have a world market near you then try Yum Yum Peanut Butter from South Africa. It’s amazing and it’s what I ask all my family in SA to send me for birthdays and Christmas etc.

    I will definitely be trying to make my own. I never even thought about making my own.

    Also, thank you for commenting on my blog and following it. It’s lovely of you to take the time to have a look 🙂

Something to say....leave a message!

