Bread leftovers update….

Yesterday I posted about the uses of leftover bread, and today I have an update. My list of things to do gres steadily, so what I wanted to get done, and had time for ended up being to completely separate entities- they actually never co-habitate…. One of the projects I wanted to experiment with was using the bread crumbs as a hot cereal mix, and the plan was to use the cornbread crumbs. I had begun dehydrating the cornbread (quick bread) before I had discovered grinding before drying, but because it was pretty crumbly to begin with, so grinding was not an ordeal.

After grinding, I went and did some dishes so I could think about what I thought it should be like. I was a little worried it was just going to be polenta- which I love anyway, but that’s notwhat I was going for. I actually was thinking more along the lines of a sweet cornbread dessert pudding-like substance. Keeping in mind that the cornbread was made up of eggs, buttermik, butter and enough dry ingredients just to moisten, I chose to use 35% cream cut with water- creamy with a little less guilt.

The resulting product was indeed the creamy sweet dessert that was pudding-like and delicious! Matt was uber-skeptical about these projects, he thought the leftovers would make better pig feed- but then he ate half the pot and said it should be on the menu. Creamy with a bit of texture, reminiscent of tapioca. I added a thin layer of sugar and torched it with the blowtorch for a crunchy texture- we ate it warm, so it never actually firmed up completely. I would recommend eating it warm- it’s like a hug.

Cornbread Pudding
250 g water
200 g 35 % cream
100 g cornbread crumbs
40 g sugar
salt to taste
1 tsp vanilla
Heat the water and cream in a small pot over medium high heat until simmering. Whisk in crumbs, turn heat down to medium low, continue to whisk to prevent sticking and burning. Cook out until thick- big bubbles will rise to the surface quickly, they spit so be careful! This takes about 7-10 minutes, Remove from heat and add sugar, vanilla and salt. Serve warm with stewed fruit, ice cream or bruleed on top. Fresh corn would also be delish in here!

One thought on “Bread leftovers update….

Something to say....leave a message!

