Choco-strawberry awesome- or something less flashy….

I started this is June, I have been dying to post it!! I AM STOKED and I hope you enjoy….

Have you ever thought of what you would want in your very own, personalized chocolate bar? I have. A lot. And I finally made it! I figured I haven’t been posting very much lately, so I’d better write something great- my first chocolate bar creation at least shows that I’ve been occupying my mind, if not my keyboard.

I have always wondered why fruit never really made it on the chocolate bar scene- I realize there are Orange Aeros and Cherry Blossoms, but I am not really certain they qualify as fruit….. Raspberries are awesome with chocolate, strawberries are… well any berry is, really…. Bananas, cherries, pear, infinite number of tropical stuff… Because I LOVE strawberries and they happen to be in season, this fruit was my muse.

There are actually a few things that you need to consider when creating a chocolate bar- flavours (of course), textures, eatability, structure.  I knew the flavor profiles I was going to use, I was more concerned about the eatability of it. What happens when you bite through it? Does the bar break in half or can you bite it without pulling apart the whole bar? I wanted layers of textures- it needed to be great! Starting from the bottom up, I chose a maple cookie for crunch (uber thin), then chewy marzipan, followed by pillowy strawberry marshmallow, then strawberry jam, topped with toasted almonds and then enrobed with dark chocolate.

Holy smokes, it was awesome. And here it is…

Strawberry Delight Chocolate Bar!

Maple Cookie:
280 g butter, room temp
150 g maple syrup
65 g maple sugar (brown sugar in a pinch)
1 egg
1 tsp salt
2 tsp baking soda dissolved in 3 tbsp boiling water
600 g pastry flour
Cream the butter, the syrup and sugar until combined (not airy), add egg and salt- mix until incorporated evenly. Add soda water (it may look split) and finally the flour, mix until dough is uniform. Wrap is plastic wrap and chill for 4 hours or overnight. Roll with a rolling pin as thin as possible, and cut into shape that you want your chocolate bar to be… Bake on parchment-lined baking sheet at 350F until crisp. Cool.
****Any leftover dough can be re-rolled once. This makes an awesome cookie for sandwiching- especially with maple butter or strawberry jam.

Next- roll marzipan (icing sugar as “flour”) and cut the same shape as your cookie. I used tempered chocolate to adhere the marzipan to the cookie, using a pastry brush to paint on my “glue.” I did make the marzipan, I think I have another post with it in it, I will try to link it here->

Strawberry Marshmallow, or what I like to call “strawberry heaven”:
10 gelatin sheets
395 g sugar
225 g corn syrup
1 tsp vanilla paste or extract
4 egg whites
35 g strawberry puree
Soak gelatin sheets in cold water (hot water will just make water flavoured jello). Bring sugar, syrup and 125 ml water to a boil. Cook out to 220C. Drain gelatin sheets and place in a mixing bowl- I would recommend an electric mixing bowl as marhmallows are marathon mixing, and you may end up with a Popeye arm. Pour hot syrup over gelatin sheets, and turn mixer on low. Now, the egg whites need to get into the bowl, but the tricky part is to get them into the hot syrup without making scrambled eggs, but it needs to be hot enough to pasteurize them. Only drop in one at a time, directly over the whisk of the mixer- I usually turn the mixer up to 4 or so, but be forwarned that molten hot sugar is HOT, and it does fly… Crank up the mixer, and let it go until it cools to warm, then add the puree. Back on high, and whisk until room temperature- I usually cover the mixer with saran to prevent a mess….. When room temp fill a piping bag and pipe a layer and then a ring of marshmallow around the marzipan- let set 4 hours or overnight. Any leftover marshmallow mix can be piped onto a icing sugar dusted pan, and then dusted on top, let set 4 hours or overnight.

Almost done…. Fill the marshmallow ring with homemade strawberry jam and top with toasted almonds. And then dunk it in deliciously awesome dark chocolate that has been tempered. If you can, let the chocolate harden and then GIVE’R!!!

3 thoughts on “Choco-strawberry awesome- or something less flashy….

  1. I drop a comment whenever I like a article on a website or if I have something to valuable to contribute
    to the discussion. It’s caused by the fire displayed in the post I looked at. And after this post Choco-strawberry awesome- or something less flashy. | freerangekitchen. I was actually moved enough to create a commenta response 😉 I actually do have a couple of questions for you if you tend not to mind. Is it simply me or do a few of these remarks come across like they are left by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional places, I would like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post. Would you list the complete urls of all your shared pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

Something to say....leave a message!

