Suped-up Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

money shot

It seems as though I am slightly “Cookie orientated” lately, I’ve got a ton of ideas I’m playing with and a fair amount of them are cookies. Besides, how can you not love cookies? They’re pretty quick to make, and they can be anything you want- sweet, buttery, tender, crisp, chewy, chocolate-y, spiced, the list is endless…. Anyway, bear with my cookie phase if it gets out of hand (it happens….).aren't they purdy

My pick of the cookie litter? I love chocolate chip cookies- regular chocolate chip, peanut butter chocolate chip, oatmeal chocolate chip, chocolate chocolate chip…. They all get equal space in my heart and stomach, not necessarily in that order. How can you elevate a cookie that has such a high regard?I started thinking about this- I didn’t lose sleep about it, but I did dream a little (mainly frolicking in a field of chocolate chip cookie flowers- isn’t that normal though?).

I narrowed it down to oatmeal chocolate chip- mainly because I haven’t had them recently- and started reviewing the ingredients. What can I change about the existing ingredients without altering the awesomeness that is an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie….

The most obvious was the butter- to me it was anyway- I usually avoid shortening and margarine, oil in a cookie doesn’t do it for me… I adore brown butter, and thinking of it in cookies changed my whole cookie though process!!! It went from there….

Suped-Up Oatmeal Chocolate Chunk Cookiesbrown butter and all of it's little brown bits

225 g brown butter, room temperature
370 g brown sugar
2 eggs, room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon salt
295 g whole wheat flour
110 g toasted oats (see notes)
1 teaspoon baking soda
320 g milk (or whatever you like) chocolate chunks/ chips

Preheat the oven to 350F. With the paddle attachment on your mixer (or a suitably equipped strong arm), cream butter and brown sugar together until smooth, add vanilla and salt- make sure you smell this, yes smell, because it smells amazing. Add eggs one at a time, scraping the bowl down and mixing thoroughly after each addition. Add measured flour, toasted oats and soda and mix to a uniform dough (no fat pockets, or flour at the bottom of the bowl). Mix in chocolate until it is evenly distributed.making chunks o chocolate
Drop by the teaspoon or small portion scoop onto parchment lined baking sheets. (Just as an FYI, if you haven’t switched to using parchemnt paper, you will loe it- it’s reuseable and pretty inexpensive, not to mention clean-up is non-existant.) Bake 5 minutes and turn, and continue for another 5 minutes. I always pull my cookies out when they are a little on the gooey side, because that’s how I like them… If you can, let them cool for a few minutes- just long enough to let them set up so you can pick them up, then dig in!

ready to eat

Notes about Toasting Oats:
This is literally what it says- toasting oats. Toasting oats- or anything for that matter- adds a nutty flavour, and often takes out a bit of the starchiness. This method also works for flour, which MUST be sifted afterwords- it’s like a brick…Spread oats out on a clean and dry baking sheet and place in a preheated 350F degree oven. They take about 15-20 minutes to toast, and should be stirred periodically as to not color to darkly in spots. Pull them out when they are light golden brown.

pre toasted oatspost toast oats

Something to say....leave a message!

