Cheese-topia

I have never really GOTTEN why Matt has always been needing to have animals on the farm. They stink, they’re extra work, they cost alot without much return, they always need care- even Holidays, and they stink. After having my cow- MY cow- for a week now, I finally get it. And I am actually in awe of how an animal operates. I feel like I’ve had the sheep wool removed from my eyes!

Daisy has no idea that a very natural thing to her- producing milk, is so valuable. Her biggest concern is whether or not she can reach that perfect piece of green hay in the corner of the pile. Most of us need to spend big bucks to learn a trade so we can earn our keep- she doesn’t need to do push paperwork about the process of milk for an 8 hour work day or go to trade school… She cows around 24 hours a day and, I would like to believe, she is content doing it.

Daisy gets milked twice a day, and she gives me about 10 L each time- if you figure the math on that, it’s about 140L of milk a week. Matt is voluntarily doing overtime on milk consumption, but this is a stretch even for him. I’ve done quite a bit of cheesemaking in a week- I am shocked how much actually. I’ve been following recipes from a book I got a while ago when we got our pain in the butt goats- The Cheesemaker’s Manual by Margaret Peters-Morris, the owner/ operator of Glengarry Cheese in Lancaster, Ontario. It’s pretty decent book… I’ve already started deviating…

Below is a gallery of what I’ve accomplished so far- who knows, maybe we’ll do a giveaway when there is something ready…

Yogurt incubating

Yogurt incubating

Costello Blue made from partially skimmed milk. This was from 2 milkings, so there is a layer of ash in the center, like Morbier.

Costello Blue made from partially skimmed milk. This was from 2 milkings, so there is a layer of ash in the center, like Morbier.

Draining yogut and brie- Draining some yogut I thought was a little runny and baby brie made from someone else's cow milk...

Draining yogut and brie- Draining some yogut I thought was a little runny and baby brie made from someone else’s cow milk…

Cambazola- At this point all of my molds were full- so the Cambazola is buche shaped, and some babies....

Cambazola- At this point all of my molds were full- so the Cambazola is buche shaped, and some babies….

Truffle Cambazola- I had some truffle salt and oil, so I added the salt to the outside and mixed the curd with the oil before molding.

Truffle Cambazola- I had some truffle salt and oil, so I added the salt to the outside and mixed the curd with the oil before molding.

Cider cheddar- I cooked the cheddar curds in some of our cider instead of the whey (maybe I should call it gouda or colby...?). It smells amazing.

Cider cheddar- I cooked the cheddar curds in some of our cider instead of the whey (maybe I should call it gouda or colby…?). It smells amazing.

Double cream camambert- There is a big crack in it, but after consulting Margaret, it should only be visually distracting, not bad bacteria problems- assuming everything else is good....

Double cream camambert- There is a big crack in it, but after consulting Margaret, it should only be visually distracting, not bad bacteria problems- assuming everything else is good….

Cultured butter similar to that in Europe. It has a slight cheesey taste.

Cultured butter similar to that in Europe. It has a slight cheesey taste.

Roquefort made with extra cream...

Roquefort made with extra cream…

Cheddar curds ready for pressing and poutine!

Cheddar curds ready for pressing and poutine!

Just adding the blueness.

Just adding the blueness.

I spilled my blue

I spilled my blue

Hanging the curds before molding

Hanging the curds before molding

Can you see the color difference?

Can you see the color difference?

One thought on “Cheese-topia

Something to say....leave a message!

